Top Menu

CMJ Announces 2013 College Radio Award Winners

CMJ 2013This year’s CMJ Music Marathon drew to a close over the weekend, after a hectic week full of concerts, parties, panel discussions, and workshops. On Thursday, at the annual College Day, college radio stations from all over the country were honored at the 2013 College Radio Awards. Nominated (see the complete nominee list here) by fellow CMJ subscribers (stations and music industry folks) and then voted on by CMJ attendees, the winners represent radio stations, radio station volunteers, and record labels/promoters who have direct contact with college radio.

This year, every award in the “industry” category was given to promotions company The Syndicate and its staffers. The college radio winners include some familiar names from last year, including Station of the Year winner WTBU from Boston University (for the 2nd year in a row). Here is the complete list of college radio winners:

Station Of The Year
WTBU (Boston University, Boston, MA)

Music Director Of The Year
Liv Jones, WPRK (Rollins College, Winter Park, FL)

Specialty Music Director Of The Year
Samantha Nakhoul, WSOU (Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ)

Most Creative Programming
KUOM aka Radio K (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)

Best Community Resource

Biggest Champion Of The Local Scene

Biggest Improvement
Radio UTD (University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX)

Best Student-Run, Internet-Only Station
Radio UTD

Best Taste In Music
Kylie Arrieta, KRUX (New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM)

Best Use Of Limited Resources
WVYC (York College, York, PA)

Rookie Of The Year
Joe Silver, WIDR (Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI)

Will Never Sell Out
Fray DeVore, WRAS (Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA)


Support from readers like you make content like this possible. Please take a moment to support Radio Survivor on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

, , , , ,

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes