Top Menu

WTBU CMJ College Radio Award from 2013

College Radio Watch: Celebrating College Radio Award Winners at CBI and CMJ

Last week college radio DJs were convening on both coasts for annual student radio gatherings. College Broadcasters Inc. (CBI) held its annual National Student Electronic Media Convention in Seattle (October 23-25) and CMJ’s Music Marathon took place in New York City (October 21-25). Each event had corresponding awards ceremonies which honored excellence in student broadcasting.

CMJ Awards

CMJ’s 2014 College Radio Awards were announced last Thursday during College Day at the CMJ Music Marathon. Convention attendees did the voting, which was out of a field of finalists that were culled from stations and individuals who were nominated by CMJ subscribers. The station with the most awards this year is University of Minnesota station KUOM (aka Radio K), with three awards. Boston University station WTBU (see my recent field trip post) took home two awards, including Station of the Year (for the third year in a row).

Here’s the complete list of CMJ Awards for Radio (see the CMJ website for additional industry award winners):

Station Of The Year
WTBU (Boston University, Boston, MA)

Music Director Of The Year
Ingrid Jin, WTBU

Specialty Music Director Of The Year
Andrew Weiler, CJLO (Concordia University Radio, Montreal, Canada)

Most Creative Programming
KALX (University of California,Berkeley, CA)

Best Community Resource
KUOM (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)

Best Student-Run, Internet-Only Station
WVAU (American University, Washington, DC)

Best Taste In Music
Trevor Morrison, WHUS (University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT)

Best Use Of Limited Resources
Radio UTD (University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX)

Rookie Of The Year
Michelle Feghali, WDBM (Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI)

Biggest Champion Of The Local Scene
KUOM (Minneapolis, MN)

Biggest Improvement
WVFS (Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL)

Will Never Sell Out
Ross Koeberl, KUOM

CBI National Student Production Awards

On Saturday, October 25, the grand finale of the CBI National Student Electronic Media Convention was the presentation of the National Student Production Awards. These awards recognized student broadcasters working in both radio and television. This year there were nearly 900 entries. You can peruse all of the finalists and winners on the CBI website.

Here’s the list of the radio-related winners:

Best Student Media Website
Georgia College and State University

Best Social Media Presence
North Carolina State University
“WKNC Social Media”

Best Vodcast
North Carolina State University
“WKNC’s The Lounge: Matthew E. White “Big Love”

Best DJ
Bowling Green State University
“The Afternoon Rush”

Best Documentary
Rowan University
“Online Dating: There’s an App for That?”

Best Podcast
KCWU-FM 88.1 The ‘Burg
Central Washington University
“The ‘Burg Spotlight”

Best Sports Reporting
Hofstra University
“Women Can Tackle Too”

Best News Reporting
Goshen College
“Blood Drive”

Best Newscast
Goshen College
“Globe News”

Best Regularly Scheduled Program
University of Oregon
“This Oregon Life: Trapped”

Best Sports Play-by-Play
University of Oregon
“Oregon vs. Washington Softball”

Best Promo
Wayne State College
“KWSC-FM Station Promo”

Best Special Broadcast
University of Kansas
“KJHK – USS Carpathia Holiday Special”


To keep up to date on college radio news, read College Radio Watch every Friday.

Just one dollar a month makes you a patron of Radio Survivor. Help us through our Patreon Campaign!


, , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes